Posts Tagged ‘ Moby

XLR8R Podcast 148: Moby – Old School Rave Mix


It’s easy to throw around words like ‘legend’ and ‘pioneer’ when talking about electronic music, and let’s face it, half the time people won’t say boo about these labels, most likely because they don’t know who they hell you’re talking about. But when it comes to true-blue dance music heavy-hitters, the kinds of artists that even your mom has heard of, it’s hard to top Moby. The man has changed a lot since getting his start making high-energy rave tunes in the early ’90s, but even as his music has morphed, changed, and, yes, mellowed, it’s always been clear that Moby still has a soft spot for that bygone era. Here at XLR8R, we’ve been itching for someone to do a classic rave mix, so we figured who better than Moby to put together a pumping session full of hyperactive synth stabs, feel-good piano melodies, whooshing hoover sounds, and endlessly pulsing beats. To our delight, he was up for the challenge, and the mix does not disappoint. Listen to the mix—we’ve had it on repeat since last week—and if you’re in the mood for more Moby DJ action, check out his recently released Wait for Me. Remixes! album on Mute, which features a Moby DJ set along with reworkings of songs from his last full-length.

Source: XLR8R

XLR8R Podcast 148: Moby – Old School Rave Mix

Track List

01 Messiah “Temple of Dreams” (Kickin)
02 Mentasm “I Need Release”
03 Altern8 “Frequency” (Network)
04 N-Joi “Mindflux” (RCA)
05 Ragga Twins “Hooligan 69″ (Shut Up and Dance)
06 Awesome 3 “Don’t Go” (City Beat)
07 Moby “Next is the E” (Instinct)
08 Hyper Go Go “High” (Hooj Choons)
09 Fierce Ruling Diva “You Gotta Believe” (React)
10 Bizarre Inc. “Playing With Knives” (Vinyl Solution)
11 Messiah “Xeroxed”
12 Dream Frequency “Feel So Real” (City Beat)

Moby Talks “Go” & 1992 Techno

Moby Talks Beatportal has been on a big retro kick lately, celebrating 20 Years of Electronic Music (not sure what they count as year zero, but sure, we’ll buy it). And there’s few more qualified and happy to talk about the gold era than Moby.

Online Link: Moby Talks “Go” & 1992 Techno

Moby Gets ‘Last Night’ Remixed

Moby Gets 'Last Night' RemixedTechno vet Moby will enlist a host of predominately new house jacks to remix his latest album next month. Imaginatively entitled ‘Last Night Remixed’, the collection will follow in the footsteps of 2006′s ‘Go ‘ The Very Best of Moby: Remixed’. Seamus Haji, Shapeshifters, Holy Ghost!, AC Slater and more try their hand at an art that the bald one recently claimed was “more important than [it's] ever been.”

Online Link: Moby Gets ‘Last Night’ Remixed.. Read more

Moby: EMI Is ‘Compromising The Careers Of Its Electronic Artists’

Moby: EMI Is 'Compromising The Careers Of Its Electronic Artists'In the ubiquitous era of the digital download, some of you may have wondered why you can’t find certain artists like the Chemical Brothers, Daft Punk, Massive Attack, and others top dance players on sites like Beatport. It comes down to the major labels, and their unwillingness to embrace download sites beyond iTunes. But one such dance artist has had enough ‘ today Moby posted an angry open letter to EMI on his website accusing the major label of compromising the careers of its dance artists by not allowing their music to be sold on sites like Beatport… Read more