Posts Tagged ‘ Joey Negro

Joey Negro – Live @ The Southport Weekender Connoisseurs Corner

Joey Negro

SC: Joey Negro – Live @ The Southport Weekender Connoisseurs Corner

Joey Negro & Gramophonedzie – No Sugar (Club Mix)

Joey Negro Gramophonedzie No Sugar Z Records

The storming, ultra catchy “No Sugar” is a collaboration between Dave Lee (aka Joey Negro) and Marko Milicevic (aka Gramophonedzie) and features London based future-jazz vocalist Shea Soul.

“No Sugar” leaps out of the speakers with an extremely energetic jazz based groove, big band brass and an infectious jazzy scat before dropping into some pure 50’s style swing which showcases Shea’s delightful vocals as she tells us that her man “Won’t Get No Sugar” if he treats her bad.

Before long things switch back to the uptempo section with a massive build using the same approach as Gramaphonedzie’s “Why Don’t You” but without any samples, this is all original.

Source: Joey Negro SC Read more

Joey Negro – New Doug Willis E.P.

Doug Willis Joey Negro

We’re going to go back, way back. Back to the time of disco where we strap on our roller skates, pick out our afros, and roll with funky, expressive outfits of color. The soundtrack will be imagined by Joey Negro a.k.a. Doug Willis, and it will be blissful. The dance floor will jam with good vibes, and we’ll be singing the words:

“Music speaks louder than words!”

The champion funky/disco house sound presented by one of our music category’s jedi masters. Well done Mr. Negro. A new classic is born! Read more

Sanctuary – Disco Discouraged (Joey Negro Edit)

Sanctuary Disco Discouraged Joey Negro

Take a trip back to the era of disco, and let Joey Negro help you appreciate the true dynamics of a time in music that many us are too young to have experienced. Updated for today’s advanced-minded DJs, and anyone who just likes to get down, in Mr. Negro we give thanks…

Sanctuary – Disco Discouraged (Joey Negro Edit) by Joey Negro

Akabu – Life Is So Strange (Deetron, Lovebirds and Joey Negro Mixes)

akabu life is so strange deetron lovebirds joey negro

Preview action for the forward-thinking nightlife composers, avid fans, and just about anyone who appreciates good house music. Diving deeper into the abyss of funky house, Joey Negro aka Akabu contributes another gem to his seemingly endless list of successful projects to dance music. Deetron and Lovebirds provide support, and all three mixes are worthy of attention.

Akabu – Life Is So Strange (Deetron, Lovebirds and Joey Negro Mixes) Next Single by Joey Negro

Joey Negro – The Selector Mix (Dec 2010)

Joey Negro

Joey Negro DJ mix recorded in Dec 2010 for the British Council radio show, The Selector…

SC: Joey Negro – The Selector Mix (Dec 2010)

Joey Negro – Weekend Weapons

Joey Negro

The UK’s soul/funk/disco devotee Joey Negro has been in high gear since the summer, first with the 20 Years of Joey Negro mix, 10 Years of the Sunburst Band and The Soul of Disco Vol. 1, a collection of the artist’s disco edits. In October, he resurfaced as Akabu with “Another Generation,” a teaser EP for the forthcoming album, featuring two of Joey’s extended mixes and a crazy deep Jimpster mix. (His debut album under the Akabu moniker will be out soon, featuring collabs with Andre Lodemann, Boomclap Bachelors, Foremost Poets, Tony Momrelle, Joel Edwards and Tanya Michelle.) The latest to come from Joey (real name Dave Lee) is Joey Negro Presents Kola Kube: Why, featuring a bounty of versions from Joey and Hot Toddy.

We asked the man to tell us what’s in heavy rotation in his sets; read on for some heavy house picks, including records from Planet E, Ochoa, Ed Banger (!) and more.

Source: Beatportal

Joey Negro – Weekend Weapons

Joey Negro Presents Akabu – October 2010 DJ Mix


Dave Lee aka Joey Negro recently finished a new studio album as Akabu, the debut album for his more deep-house orientated guise. The album titled ‘The Phuture Ain’t What It Used To Be’ was released in September 2010 through Z Records. Using this Akabu disguise, here is a fresh DJ mix by the man himself utilizing this methodology of approach.

SoundCloud: Joey Negro Presents Akabu – October 2010 DJ Mix

Akabu – The Phuture Ain’t What It Used To Be

Joey Negro

Prolific DJ and producer Dave Lee (aka Joey Negro) has unveiled details for his next full-length, entitled ‘The Phuture Ain’t What It Used to Be’.

Lee has released his fair share of albums over the past two decades, most famously as Joey Negro and The Sunburst Band, but The Phuture… will be his first as Akabu, a guise he’s used off and on since 2000. According to Lee, the new LP shows him moving away from the organic and live sounds of his other monikers for something a bit more, well, futuristic. “After a year producing disco I wanted to do something more electronic and utilize some of the great modern studio technology that’s out there,” he says. “I’ve still tried to attempt to inject some of the excitement of live players and musicality into the electronic music I produce.”

Source: RA

Akabu – The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be

Implicit & Suneel – June/July 2010 DJ Chart

Implicit Suneel June July 2010 DJ Chart

FHMDC’s Implicit & Suneel’s new June/July 2010 DJ Chart is now available at with 27 smokers integrated with a blitz of filtered disco funk, chuggin’ twisters, and a diverse set of intelligently designed vocals.

01. Sharam Jey – Hearts of Stone (The Phantom’s Revenge Remix) [King Kong]
02. T Coy – Carino (Steve Mac’s Old Skool Big Room Mix) [Deconstruction]
03. Chris Lake/Marco Lys vs. Copyright Feat. Tasita D Mour – La Tromba Risin’ (Copyright Elevation remix) [Defected]
04. Florrie – Call 911 (His Majesty Andre Call Me Instead Remix) [Kitsune]
05. Mark Knight – Devil Walking (Original Club Mix) [Toolroom]
06. Drop The Lime – Devil’s Eyes (Jam Xpress Remix) [Bandroom]
07. Carlo Toma – Back To Panorama’s Love [In The House/Defected]
08. His Majesty Andre – Cyprus [Moda]
09. Senor Stereo – Hot Damn! [Slow Roast]
10. Raven Maize – Forever Together (Grant Nelson Live Mix) [Z Records]
11. Rush Hour Commuters – Feel It [Groovelab]
12. Adrian Lux – Teenage Crime (Axwell Remix) [Vendetta]
13. Gramophonedzie – Street Lady (Mark Funk Mix) [Guesthouse]
14. Coach Roebuck – Get Ur Swerve On (Astropimp Remix) [Nocturnal]
15. Adulture/OCD Automatic – Paper Cat (The Phantom’s Revenge Remix) [Solid Bump]
16. Human Life – In It Together [Lifex]
17. Jose Nunez – Dance Again (Jose’s Subliminal Mix) [Subliminal]
18. Little Big Man – This Is The Way [Mobile Trax]
19. Jackin Box – Right Back Jack [Flapjack]
20. Kill Frenzy – Master Plan [Cheap Thrills]
21. Titan – Rodeo (Tommie Sunshine & Figure present ECSTA$Y Remix) [La Valigetta]
22. Dimitri From Paris – Rock This Town (Dimitri From Paris Little Italy Remake) [SSOH]
23. Yolanda Wyns – I Know You, I Live You (Joey Negro Remix – Grant Nelson Re-visit) [Z Records]
24. Dirty South – Phazing [Vendetta]
25. Riva Starr – Splendidub (feat. Rettore – Extended Vox) [Snatch]
26. Daniel Kingley – Together (SKingz Remix) [Groove Dust]
27. South of Roosevelt – Everybody Loves (Vocal Mix) [Flapjack]

Audio samples and purchase links available here at